Book: THIS IS MY AMERICA
Author: Kim Johnson
Pub. Date: July 28, 2020
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Find it: Amazon | KindleAudibleB&NiBooks | KoboTBD | Bookshop.org


Book Overview

Dear Martin meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting YA novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time–her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy’s older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a “thug” on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town’s racist history that still haunt the present?

Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won’t want to miss this provocative and gripping debut.

Audio Clip


Book Review

This Is My America is an in-depth look from an entirely different perspective that allows you to see all points of one of the most important conversations happening now.

The honesty that’s written in these pages will emotionally and mentally effect you until you experience the paradigm shift that happens when you learn and open yourself to knowledge and truth.

This Is My America is a great learning tool and could be used a great starting point for open dialog in schools.

Giveaway Details

The author will be raffling off 3 copies of THIS IS MY AMERICA during the book tour! (US only)


About the Author

KIM JOHNSON held leadership positions in social justice organizations as a teen and in college. She’s now a college administrator who maintains civic engagement throughout the community while also mentoring Black student activists and leaders. She is also the graduate advisor and member of an historically Black sorority.

This Is My America is her debut novel and explores racial injustice against innocent Black men who are criminally sentenced and the families left behind to pick up the pieces. She holds degrees from the University of Oregon and the University of Maryland, College Park.


Author Links: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads


FOLLOW THE BOOK TOUR

Week One:

7/13/2020BookHounds YAExcerpt
7/14/2020She Just Loves BooksReview
7/15/2020A Dream Within A DreamExcerpt
7/16/2020ThepagesinbetweenReview
7/17/2020Here’s to Happy EndingsReview

Week Two:

7/20/2020Not In JerseyReview
7/21/2020The Bookwyrm’s DenReview
7/22/2020Bri’s Book NookReview
7/23/2020Confessions of a YA ReaderReview
7/24/2020Emelie’s BooksReview

Week Three:

7/27/2020Hurn PublicationsReview
7/28/2020Kait Plus BooksExcerpt
7/29/2020Lifestyle of MeReview
7/30/2020Rajiv’s ReviewsReview
7/31/2020Stuck in the StacksReview

Week Four:

8/3/2020Popthebutterfly ReadsReview
8/4/2020A Gingerly ReviewExcerpt
8/5/2020Two Chicks on BooksExcerpt
8/6/2020Life of a Female BibliophileReview
8/7/2020MomfluensterReview

Book Tour Hosted By


HURN PUBLICATIONS… 
…is a home for bold ideas and big thinkers.

We’re an Indie Publishing Company aiming to help educate, inspire and coach new and experienced authors. We’re a different kind of publisher who believes that writers should be able to make a living doing what they love.

Signing up for our newsletter gets you Book Reviews, Books On Tour, Cover Reveals, Giveaways and Book Sales delivered right to your inbox. Stay up to date in the Indie Publishing world!

SIGN-UP HERE

Follow us: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | YouTube