Book: Dog Town
Author: Debbie Richardson
Genre: Middle-Grade fiction
Find It: Amazon | B&N


Book Overview

“Dog Town” is an adventure story, filled with wonderful animal characters. Suitable for fans of “Wind in the Willows” and “Watership Down”.

Harry loves to race around the streets of Dog Town. When he stumbles upon the lost city of cats, he finds himself in a race against Dog Town’s fastest canine, Grizzly. The winner of this race will have the power to save Cat World, or destroy it. Harry wants to win, but there is one small problem. The race is in the ocean, and Harry is terribly afraid of water.

Can Harry overcome his fear of the water and save Cat Town?

Book Excerpt

HARRY snapped himself out of the trance.

 “Run!” he yelled, and every dog did exactly that. 

But they took off in a disorderly fashion, like a handful of wound-up toys had been released onto a slippery surface.

Kevin started running first, but he became caught up in chasing his tail. He twirled and twirled, creating a mini tornado. 

Teena barked so violently she propelled herself backwards. She only managed to stop when she bumped up against a six-foot-high stack of hubcaps. The metal discs came hurtling toward the dogs at an alarming speed. 

Harry saw Teena jump out of the way. Then she reached for Pablo’s collar. She tugged and tugged, but her brother’s feet might as well have been concreted to the ground. 

“Pablo!” Harry urged. He cried out again, more urgently this time. “Pablo! Run!” 

Pablo stared at the big dogs as though he was hypnotised. 

“Pablo!” Teena cried, pulling harder on his collar.

By now, Kevin’s mini tornado had taken on a life of its own. Wispy tendrils clutched madly at anything in reach, but they grasped only air. Seemingly angered by this, the vortex pulled itself into the shape of a bowling ball and made a beeline for Pablo and Teena. 

Book Review

Dog Town was just absolutely hilarious!

I really had a great time reading Debbie Richardson’s work. It was the light-hearted, fun read that I needed right now. I know my kiddo is going to love laughing at this book as much as I did.

The characters are lovable, colorful and have the same tendencies to chase their tails as our doggo here at home does. I absolutely love that it teaches the reader to find the courage to face your fears in a manner that’s digestible, relatable and enjoyable.

It’s so good, I went straight over to Amazon to buy a copy for my son!


Giveaway Details

The author, Debbie Richardson, will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B&N Giftcard to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.


About the Author

Debbie Richardson has published fiction novels as D L Richardson. She has published three young adults supernatural fiction novels, and science fiction and supernatural thrillers for adults. This is her first children’s book.

She was born in Dublin, Ireland and grew up in Australia. It was always crowded  and noisy in the family home. At one stage there were also three dogs, a cat, a budgie, and three mice living with seven people the same house. Debbie learned to find a quiet space within books. She now lives in the south coast of New South Wales with her husband and a small dog named Teeka. 

Author Links: Website | Facebook



Book Tour Hosted By

SINCE YOU’RE HERE… 
… we have a small favour to ask.

Hurn Publications is a home for bold ideas and big thinkers. We welcome your comments and banter, provided it stays respectful for all.

We’re an Indie Publishing Company aiming to help educate, inspire and coach new and experienced authors.
We’re a different kind of publisher who believes that writers should be able to make a living doing what they love.
Follow our link for Submission and Query Guidelines, and get published by a business that’s changing the industry!

Do you have a book but you didn’t publish with us? We’re still here to support you. Contact us about being part of your Book Tour!

We ask that you follow us: InstagramTwitterFacebook and Pinterest